Types of uterine fibroids

Myoma is a kind of benign tumor, consisting of muscle tissue and fibrous tissue that grows on the wall of the uterus that normally grows faster during pregnancy and menopause.

The severity and need for removal is determined by the gynecologist.

There are 3 types of uterine fibroids and they can develop inside, outside, between the walls of the uterus or inside the uterine cavity. They can be classified into 3 types: subserous, intramural or submucosal.

  • Subserous Myoma: It is located outside the walls of the uterus and is nourished by a blood vessel (vascular pedicle) and therefore can be called a pedicle.
  • Intramural fibroid: It is located between the walls of the uterus.
  • Submucous fibroid: It is located on the inner wall of the uterus and can affect the endometrium.

Submucosal fibroids are the ones that most interfere with fertility and menstruation disorders, usually others do not generate symptoms.

Symptoms of uterine fibroids

Symptoms of uterine fibroids can be:

  • Abdominal pain;
  • Increased abdominal volume;
  • Much colic during menstruation;
  • Pain during intercourse;
  • Abundant menstruation;
  • Loss of blood outside the menstrual period;
  • Increased urge to urinate due to pressure on the bladder.

However, there are women who do not show any symptoms, being discovered in a routine exam.

Treatment for uterine fibroids

Treatment for uterine fibroids can be done with hormonal medications or surgery, depending on the severity of the symptoms and their location.